England Women 7s squad has been named ahead of the 2019/20 season

Helena Rowland during England's final match in the Rugby Europe Qualifiers Series (PA Images)
7:27am, Tue 17 Sep 2019
CBAD8A00-D2B9-4E0E-ADDF-D0366C357A34 Created with sketchtool. E9A4AA46-7DC3-48B8-9CE2-D75274FB8967 Created with sketchtool. 65CCAE04-4748-4D0F-8696-A91D8EB3E7DC Created with sketchtool.

England Women’s 7s rugby squad has been named ahead of the 2019/20 season.

Abbie Brown is set to captain the squad for a second successive season.

12 out of the original 15 players secured qualification on behalf of Great Britain during the Rugby Europe Olympic qualifiers tournament for Tokyo 2020.

The likes of Heather Fisher, Megan Jones, Alex Matthews and Deborah Fleming will all be returning for the upcoming season.

New names added to the squad include Sydney Gregson, Beth Wilcock and Jodie Ounsley.

Gregson made her World Series debut in Biarritz in June and spent last season with her domestic side Saracens.

Wilcock comes from Harlequins and featured in the England Under-20’s Tri Nations Cup matches in July, whilst Ounsley will be looking to make her international debut with the side.

The World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series has seen a change in the tournament after increasing from six to eight rounds for the first time in history.

Related videos

Newly appointed head coach Charlie Hayter said: “More rounds and tournaments will give vital experience to this young group and taking sevens to new audiences will only help to grow the game at home and across the globe.

“We’re looking forward to continuing our hard work and seeing how they, along with our new recruits, perform on the World Series circuit this time out.”

England will face New Zealand, Russia and Japan in Pool A. The first series is held in Colorado on October 5.

England Women 7s Squad announcement:

Holly Aitchison, Abbie Brown (C), Abi Burton, Heather Fisher, Deborah Fleming, Sydney Gregson, Megan Jones, Ellie Kildunne, Alex Matthews, Jodie Ounsley, Celia Quansah, Helena Rowland, Emma Uren, Beth Wilcock, Amy Wilson Hardy.