England Roses announce squad for tour of Australia and New Zealand

Natalie Panagarry (right) will be invaluable in terms of experience (PA Images)
22:19pm, Mon 09 Sep 2019
CBAD8A00-D2B9-4E0E-ADDF-D0366C357A34 Created with sketchtool. E9A4AA46-7DC3-48B8-9CE2-D75274FB8967 Created with sketchtool. 65CCAE04-4748-4D0F-8696-A91D8EB3E7DC Created with sketchtool.

England Netball have announced the 15 players who will make up their squad to travel for a tournament in Australia and New Zealand later this month.

The squad includes Fran Williams and Natalie Panagarry who were both members of England's Vitality Netball World Cup bronze medal team. This will also be the first venture for their new head coach Jess Thirlby who will be trying to continue Tracy Neville's legacy with the team.

"It is very exciting to be taking this team on tour to Australia and New Zealand to compete against both teams' equivalent emerging talent," said Tilby

"I'm very much looking forward to my first international tour as head coach of the Vitality Roses and can't wait for what the future holds for this team.

"We have some new faces within the Roses programme now and this is a great chance to expose those players to new styles of play and competition, whilst giving them the opportunity to learn from some of their more experienced teammates, for instance Natalie and Fran who had the amazing opportunity to compete in the Vitality Netball World Cup earlier this year." she added.

Former England player Sonia Mklolma will be working alongside Jess as assistant coach and will be bringing her experience from three Netball World Cups and Commonwealth games to the role. She also boasts a place in the England Netball Hall of Fame.

The Roses will travel to Canberra to play and train with Australia's development team before they travel to Auckland to face New Zealand's A side.

Related videos

The squad of 15 is as follows: Imogen Allison, Summer Artman, Eleanor Cardwell, Amy Carter, Sophie Drakeford-Lewis, George Fisher, Laura Malcolm, Gabby Marshall, Victoria Oyesola, Natalie Pangarry, Jessica Shaw, Kate Shimmin, Olivia Tchine, Razia Quashie, Fran Williams.