W Series announce initial 2020 season calendar with additional races in Sweden and Russia

Britain's Jamie Chadwick won the first ever W Series in 2019 (PA Images)
7:54am, Fri 01 Nov 2019
CBAD8A00-D2B9-4E0E-ADDF-D0366C357A34 Created with sketchtool. E9A4AA46-7DC3-48B8-9CE2-D75274FB8967 Created with sketchtool. 65CCAE04-4748-4D0F-8696-A91D8EB3E7DC Created with sketchtool.

Russia and Sweden will host the first two races of next season's W Series following an initial announcement regarding the 2020 calendar.

The Russian race will take place on May 29 at the Igora Drive circuit near St Petersburg, before the drivers travel to Sweden's Anderstorp Raceway for the second race of the campaign.

Last season's races in Zolder, Belgium and Hockenheim, Germany have both been ousted, while Italy's race has moved from Misano to the famous F1 circuit of Monza.

Races which remain on the calendar have been announced as Norisring in Germany, Brands Hatch in the UK, and Assen in the Netherlands.

Following the announcement, W Series race director Dave Ryan spoke about the new Russian circuit added for the 2020 season.

He said: "The DTM drivers who've visited [Igora Drive] have been very complimentary about it, describing it as fast and technical, finishing with an exciting uphill final sector consisting of a series of quick-fire corners, a hairpin and a long straight."

The W Series will continue to be a race which drivers can earn points towards a 'super licence' which is what is required to compete in Formula One.

More races for the 2020 season are yet to be announced, but 18 of the 20 drivers have been revealed.