England rugby sevens coach Charlie Hayter announces squad for 50th anniversary series in Dubai

Captain Abbie Scott after England won the Rugby Europe Women's Sevens this year (PA Images)
Captain Abbie Scott after England won the Rugby Europe Women's Sevens this year (PA Images)
15:16pm, Tue 03 Dec 2019
CBAD8A00-D2B9-4E0E-ADDF-D0366C357A34 Created with sketchtool. E9A4AA46-7DC3-48B8-9CE2-D75274FB8967 Created with sketchtool. 65CCAE04-4748-4D0F-8696-A91D8EB3E7DC Created with sketchtool.

England rugby have announced their squad for the upcoming sevens series in Dubai this weekend.

The team will face France, New Zealand and Japan in Pool C of the tournament.

The competition, which is taking place from December 5-7, is celebrating its 50th anniversary.

Abbie Scott will once again captain the side that finished ninth at the last sevens series in Glendale.

England will be looking to improve their finishing position at the first combined men's and women's event of the season.

Sevens head coach Charlie Hayter said: “We’re really looking forward to competing in Dubai in the 50th anniversary year.

“Playing at the Sevens Stadium is always a fantastic experience. It’s also the first combined men’s and women’s event of the season which is exciting for the whole sevens programme.   

“We’ve had a good block of training after Glendale with further rugby focus. We’re really pleased to have Katie Mason with us and would like to thank Wasps and Lions Sports Academy for releasing her.”

All the matches this weekend will be available to watch on Sky Sports Arena.

Full squad: Abbie Brown (C), Abi Burton, Heather Fisher, Deborah Fleming, Megan Jones, Alex Matthews, Katie Mason, Jodie Ounsley, Celia Quansah, Helena Rowland, Emma Uren, Beth Wilcock, Amy Wilson Hard.

Sign up to our newsletter