Ireland Hockey name women's squad for South Africa trip ahead of Tokyo 2020

Ireland Hockey won both games against Canada at the Olympic play-offs (PA Images)
Ireland Hockey won both games against Canada at the Olympic play-offs (PA Images)
9:19am, Thu 27 Feb 2020
CBAD8A00-D2B9-4E0E-ADDF-D0366C357A34 Created with sketchtool. E9A4AA46-7DC3-48B8-9CE2-D75274FB8967 Created with sketchtool. 65CCAE04-4748-4D0F-8696-A91D8EB3E7DC Created with sketchtool.

Ireland Hockey have announced their women's squad ahead of their trip to South Africa in preparation for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

Megan Frazer is back on the pitch after suffering a severe knee injury which left her out the squad for a number of seasons. 

The 29 year-old missed out on the 2018 World Cup final against the Netherlands in London. She also missed the Olympic play-offs when Ireland created history when they booked their spot for Tokyo. 

The squad were originally meant to travel to Malaysia but due to the coronavirus outbreak it had to be relocated. 

They will now head to Durban in late March and will play against hosts South Africa, China and Japan in an eight-match tour. 

Head coach Sean Dancer said: "This will be an important period for us, not just for team performance but also exposure to humid conditions.

"We are looking forward to seeing Megan Frazer return to competition after a long rehab period and the addition of uncapped Ellie McLoughlin in our environment."

Naomi Carroll and Ali Meeke have both been included, whilst Chloe Watkins is not after she underwent minor surgery recently. 

Ireland squad: 

A McFerran (Ulster), R Upton (Munster), N Evans (Leinster), K Mullan capt (Ulster), S McCay (Ulster), M Frazer (Ulster), E Tice (Leinster), G Pinder (Leinster), B Barr (Ulster), L Colvin (Ulster), N Daly (Ulster), H Matthew (Leinster), S Hawkshaw (Leinster), A O'Flanagan vice-capt (Leinster), Z Wilson (Ulster), E Curran (Leinster), A Meeke (Leinster), E McLoughlin (Leinster), H McLoughlin (Leinster), S Torrans (Leinster), N Carroll (Munster)

Sign up to our newsletter