Which countries have been removed from the safe travel list?

Coronavirus Sun Sep 6, 2020
Coronavirus Sun Sep 6, 2020 - (Copyright PA Wire)
3:08am, Fri 25 Sep 2020
CBAD8A00-D2B9-4E0E-ADDF-D0366C357A34 Created with sketchtool. E9A4AA46-7DC3-48B8-9CE2-D75274FB8967 Created with sketchtool. 65CCAE04-4748-4D0F-8696-A91D8EB3E7DC Created with sketchtool.

The UK Government has announced the latest changes to its quarantine exemption list, removing four countries and adding none.

Here’s a guide to the latest changes:

– Which countries have now been removed from the travel-safe list?

Denmark, Iceland, Slovakia and the tiny Caribbean island of Curacao.

People arriving from any of those destinations after 4am on Saturday will have to self-isolate for 14 days.

– Does the rule only cover England?

No. Unlike previously, this one now covers the whole of the UK, after agreements from devolved administrations.

– Why have these countries been removed from the exemption list?

The Department for Transport (DfT) said data showed a significant increase in confirmed cases of coronavirus in the four countries.

Fresh data from Denmark showed a rate of 65.2 cases per 100,000 people, up from 33.8 only a week ago.

Iceland and Slovakia have rates of 80.4 and 25.9 respectively, while Curacao is on 66.7.

A rate of 20 is the threshold above which the Government considers triggering quarantine conditions.

The rate in the UK is 47.3.

HEALTH Coronavirus - (Copyright PA Graphics)

– Have any countries been added to the exemption list for England?

Not this week.

– What should travellers already in the four countries do?

The DfT said people currently in the four “new” countries are encouraged to follow local rules and check Foreign Office advice pages.

The Government is also urging employers to be understanding of those returning from these destinations who now will need to self-isolate.

Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab has previously said no worker following quarantine guidance should be penalised by employers, including by being put on sick pay.

Coronavirus – Tue Sep 8, 2020 - (Copyright PA Wire)

– I’ve got a holiday booked to a country that is not on the travel corridor list, what should I do?

The Foreign Office advises British nationals against “all but essential travel” to countries that have not been declared travel corridors.

– My holiday destination still has no self-isolation requirement, will that change?

Those who head to a country on the travel corridor list must keep a close eye on announcement from governments – devolved or UK – to see if their destination’s status changes while they are there.

Some tourists have had to pay hundreds of pounds to change to earlier flights to make it back before the quarantine requirement comes into force.

– So where can I go without having to self-isolate on return?

Quite a few places. There are currently more than 60 on the safe list, including Australia, Barbados, Cuba, Estonia, Germany, Italy, Japan and Vietnam.

Sign up to our newsletter