GB sprint star Dina Asher-Smith named Sportswoman of the year at the Sports Journalism Association awards

Golden girl of athletics Dina Asher-Smith wins yet another gong (PA Images)
13:44pm, Fri 29 Nov 2019
CBAD8A00-D2B9-4E0E-ADDF-D0366C357A34 Created with sketchtool. E9A4AA46-7DC3-48B8-9CE2-D75274FB8967 Created with sketchtool. 65CCAE04-4748-4D0F-8696-A91D8EB3E7DC Created with sketchtool.

GB world sprint champion Dina Asher-Smith has been named Sportswoman of the Year at the Sports Journalism British Sports Awards for the second year running. 

At the World Athletics Championships in Doha the 23-year-old became the 200m world champion and broke the British record with a time of 22.88. She took home a silver medal in the 100m and 4x100m relay. 

Heptathlon world champion Katarina Johnson-Thompson won the award for outstanding performance. The 26-year-old broke the British record in Doha with 6981 points. 

Lioness Ellen White won the Chairman's Award and retired England Netball head coach Tracey Neville received the JL Manning Award for Services Off the Field of Play. 

The winner of the National Lottery Spirit of Sport Award was awarded to skeleton two-time Olympic champion Lizzie Yarnold. 

Para-swimmer Alice Tai won the Bill McGowran Trophy after she grabbed four world records and seven gold medals at the Para Swimming World Championships. 

Sign up to our newsletter