All 13 women to have won Sports Personality of the Year

13 different women have won the Sports Personality of the Year award since its inception in 1954 (PA Images)
13 different women have won the Sports Personality of the Year award since its inception in 1954 (PA Images)
13:24pm, Fri 15 Nov 2019
CBAD8A00-D2B9-4E0E-ADDF-D0366C357A34 Created with sketchtool. E9A4AA46-7DC3-48B8-9CE2-D75274FB8967 Created with sketchtool. 65CCAE04-4748-4D0F-8696-A91D8EB3E7DC Created with sketchtool.

The 2019 edition of Sports Personality of the Year marks 14 years since a woman last scooped the main prize.

That is the longest period of time since the award was first handed out in 1954 that a female has not been awarded the coveted trophy.

In fact, you have to go back to 2012 just to find the last woman who finished runner-up, when Jessica Ennis-Hill lost out to Bradley Wiggins.

So, in homage to all the women who have won the competition down the years, we are going through each athlete individually - starting with the first ever female winner.

Anita Lonsbrough

Swimmer Anita Lonsbrough won three gold medals at the 1962 Commonwealth Games (PA Images)

Anita Lonsbrough was the first women to take the award back in 1962 after her success at the Commonwealth Games in Perth.

The swimmer won the 110yd breastroke, the 220yd breaststroke, and the 440yd individual medley in a stellar set of performances.

This is also the only year to date where the top three were all women, with sprinter Dorothy Hyman second, and swimmer Linda Ludgrove third.

Dorothy Hyman

Sprinter Dorothy Hyman had an incredible season in 1963 (PA Images)

After finishing runner-up the previous year, Dorothy Hyman was crowned the 1963 Sports Personality of the Year.

Incredibly, she went the whole season unbeaten in the 100m, setting a new European record and missing out on the world record by just 0.1 seconds.

She also set a new British record in the 200m and was a part of the team which broke the world record in the 4x110yd relay with a time of 45.2 seconds.

Mary Rand

Mary Rand won the long jump at the 1964 Olympic Games (PA Images)

The first woman to win SPOTY as a result of her Olympic performance was Mary Rand in 1964.

To this day, she is the only British woman to have won an Olympic gold medal in the long jump, which she achieved at the Games in Tokyo.

As well as her jumping prowess, Rand took two more medals at that very same Olympics - a silver in the pentathlon and bronze in the 4x100m relay.

Ann Jones

Ann Jones won the women's singles title at Wimbledon in 1969 (PA Images)

Ann Jones came from a set down to beat Billie Jean King 3-6 6-3 6-2 and claim the 1969 Wimbledon title.

She is one of only three British women to have won a post-war singles title at the All England Club along with Angela Mortimer and Virginia Wade.

Prior to her Wimbledon win on home soil, she had also won two French Open championships in 1961 and 1969.

Princess Anne

Princess Anne won gold in the individual eventing at the European Championships in 1971 (PA Images)

At just 21 years old, Princess Anne announced herself onto the sporting scene with a gold medal in individual eventing at the European Championships.

As a result, she was awarded the 1971 Sports Personality of the Year, beating runner-up George Best to the prize.

Princess Anne's daughter, Zara, would go on to win it herself 35 years later.

Mary Peters

Mary Peters (centre) beat Heide Rosendahl (left) and Burglinde Pollak (right) at the 1972 Olympic Games (PA Images)

Mary Peters sensationally won the 1972 pentathlon at the Olympic Games in Munich by just ten points from Heide Rosendahl.

With a total of 4801, she also set a new world record which stood until 1980 when it was broken by Nadezhda Tkachenko.

Across an impressive career, Peters also won three Commonwealth Games gold medals, two at Edinburgh 1970 and one at Christchurch 1974.

Virginia Wade

Virginia Wade after her Wimbledon win (PA Images)

Aside from Andy Murray, Virginia Wade is the last British person to have won a Wimbledon singles title.

She beat defending champion Chris Evert over three sets in the semi-final, before coming from a set down in the final to win the Grand Slam against The Netherlands' Betty Stove.

It would be Wade's last of her three Grand Slam victories as she never reached another final.

Jayne Torvill (with partner Christopher Dean)

Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean won gold in the ice dancing at the 1984 Winter Olympics (PA Images)

Very few sports men or women can say that their gold medal-winning performance was watched by 24 million people across Britain.

But that is how many people tuned in for Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean's bolero routine at the 1984 Winter Olympics in Sarajevo.

It received 12 perfect 6.0 marks and captivated a nation, leading them to SPOTY glory at the end of the year.

Fatima Whitbread

Fatima Whitbread with her SPOTY trophy in 1987 (PA Images)

Javelin thrower Fatima Whitbread was pipped to lifting the Sports Personality trophy in 1986 when the honour was bestowed upon Nigel Mansell.

However, the following year she won gold at the 1987 World Athletics Championships, leading to her beating four-time world snooker champion Steve Davis to SPOTY and being the only woman to take the award in the 1980s.

The London-born athlete failed to repeat her javelin feat at the Olympics 12 months later when she had to settle for silver behind East Germany's Petra Felke.

Liz McColgan

Liz McColgan won the 10,000m at the 1991 world championships in Tokyo (PA Images)

Liz McColgan put in one of the most dominant displays in British history at the 1991 World Athletics Championships, a performance which won her SPOTY.

She won the gold medal in the 10,000m by a staggering 21 seconds from second place Zhong Huandi.

In a stellar year, she also took victory in the New York Marathon, but finished a disappointing fifth at the 1992 Olympic Games a year later.

Paula Radcliffe

Paula Radcliffe hit new strides on both the road and the track in 2002 (PA Images)

Paula Radcliffe began running marathons in 2002 and by the spring had already won the London event with the second fastest time in history.

Later on in the year, she set a world record for a women's marathon of two hours, 17 minutes and 18 seconds in Chicago, breaking the previous best by a minute and a half.

One of Britain's best ever distance runners, Radcliffe went on to win SPOTY, with David Beckham finishing runner-up and legendary jockey Tony McCoy third.

Kelly Holmes

Kelly Holmes won two gold medals at the 2004 Olympics (PA Images)

Two years after Radcliffe's success, a British female middle-distance runner took the mantle in the shape of Kelly Holmes.

She won both the 800m and 1500m at the 2004 Olympic games in Athens despite having never won a world or European title.

Holmes was met with jubilant scenes upon arriving back to Britain, and secured the SPOTY award ahead of fellow Olympian Matthew Pinsent and Andrew Flintoff, who would go on to win it in 2005.

Zara Phillips

Zara Tindall, née Phillips, became the Eventing world champion in 2006 (PA Images)

Zara Tindall is the most recent winner of Sports Personality of the Year, following in her mother Princess Anne's footsteps by winning it in 2006.

She won the 2006 world title in the individual eventing discipline in Germany, and was a part of the GB squad which took silver in the team event.

Tindall went on to win Olympic silver in 2012, but was not even nominated for SPOTY.

So, where is the next winner coming from?

Sign up to our newsletter